11th Carolus Magnus summer school on plasma and fusion energy physics

August 26 - September 6, 2013   Bad Honnef (GERMANY)

Together with the FOM Institute DIFFER (Nieuwegein, The Netherlands), the Laboratory for Plasma Physics in the ERM/KMS (Brussels, Belgium) and SCK•CEN (Mol, Belgium), the Institute of Energy and Climate Research – Plasma Physics at Forschungszentrum Julich, forms the Trilateral Euregio Cluster (TEC). The TEC is responsible for the organisation of the Carolus Magnus Summer Schools taking place every two years. Most lectures will be given by senior physicists from the TEC institutes and by academic staff from nearby universities of North Rhine-Westphalia, Belgium and The Netherlands. A few lectures will also be delivered by experts from other laboratories associated in the European Fusion Research Programme and from ITER.

The 11th Carolus Magnus Summer School will be devoted to the theoretical and experimental aspects of high temperature plasmas confined in toroidal magnetic traps and is relevant to energy production using controlled nuclear fusion. Special emphasis will be laid on tokamaks, but stellarators will also be discussed. With the ITER project now officially being under way, increased attention will be paid to physics addressing this nextstep device. The Summer School programme also contains two evening lectures on special subjects.

For more information and registration, please visit www.carolusmagnus.net.